The Museum is hiring a Museum Manager. Click here for details.

Gleneagles Hotel under construction (East and North sides) on 13th February 1923 - Dr JA Grant

During a holiday in his native Perthshire in 1910, Donald Matheson, General Manager of the Caledonian Railway Co., conceived the idea of establishing “a Georgian Hotel or country house, built in the style of a palace, to attract and cater for the British travelling class” near Crieff Junction.

C&SM Launch

On the 28th of May the museum was formally launched by Rory Stewart OBE and his wife Shoshana, with a group of former and current trustees and invited guests.

No great ceremony but today was the hand over of the keys for the town hall, to begin our lease and a new chapter for Crieff & Strathearn Museum.

Today, David visited the Scottish Conservation Studio at Hopetoun House, for a training session in cleaning photographic plates.

Thanks to the tremendous generosity of Janet Hughes, who donated the whole purchase amount for the John McGregor Collection, Andrew was able to go to Dumbartonshire today to collect the boxes of glass half plates from Malcolm Lindsay.

Back in January we were contacted by Malcolm Lindsay who had acquired over four hundred photographic half plates by the Muthill photographer John McGregor and wanted us to know they were available for sale.

Loch Turret Water Inspection

We were very pleased to hear from John Hunt, the nephew of the late Miss Emily Hunt, who has donated a number of interesting newspaper cuttings, photos and other artefacts to C&SM. Many people who lived in the Crieff area before 1984

Today the Crieff & Strathearn Museum group became an affiliate of the Scottish Civic Trust.

Today was a trip for volunteers and trustees to the Battle of Bannockburn Visitors’ Centre and to the Engine Shed.